Final Tally: Preseason honors for Bulldogs

After several weeks of watch-listing, honoring and voting, we’ve got the final collection of all the Mississippi State football players who earned some sort of preseason recognition, and the list isn’t short. A special thanks to Kyle Niblett of MSU media relations for compiling the honors and keeping track throughout the preseason.

As you’d imagine, senior cornerback Johnthan Banks garnered quite of attention.

Johnthan Banks – Senior – DB
Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List
Bednarik Award Watch List
Jim Thorpe Award Watch List
Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List
All-American: Athlon (First Team), Phil Steele (Second Team)
All-SEC First Team (Defense): SEC Coaches, Athlon, Blue Ribbon, Birmingham News, Lindys, Phil Steele, USA Today

All-SEC Second Team (Defense): SEC Media

All-SEC Second Team (All-Purpose/Special Teams): SEC Coaches

All-SEC Third Team (All-Purpose/Special Teams): SEC Media, Athlon, Phil Steele
Lindys Magazine “Best Cover Corner in SEC”

Josh Boyd – Senior – DL
Outland Trophy Watch List
All-SEC Second Team (Defense): Athlon
All-SEC Third Team (Defense): SEC Coaches, Phil Steele

Dillon Day – Sophomore – OL
Rimington Trophy Watch List

Gabe Jackson – Junior – OL
Outland Trophy Watch List
Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List
All-SEC Second Team (Offense): SEC Coaches, SEC Media, Athlon, Phil Steele, Birmingham News

Malcolm Johnson – Sophomore – TE
Mackey Award Watch List

Cameron Lawrence – Senior – LB
Butkus Award Watch List
All-SEC First Team (Defense): Birmingham News
All-SEC Third Team (Defense): SEC Media, Athlon
All-SEC Fourth Team (Defense): Phil Steele

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.