ABC Mailbag: Baseball, food, music and more

Each week on The B&B Show (a radio show I co-host on Bulldog Sports Radio; you can listen to today’s full show here) we have a segment we call ABC, which you’ve seen me mention if you follow on Twitter.

It stands for Ask Bob Carskadon and is, basically, a radio mailbag of some serious and many non-serious questions sometimes but not always relating to Mississippi State sports.

Every Tuesday, we ask for questions on Twitter (tweet them to @bobcarskadon) and now, every Wednesday, I’ll pick some good ones to answer here on the HailState Beat. (PSA on those tweets: if a twitter profile is locked, people who don’t follow it can’t see its tweets, even if they are mentioned in the tweet.)

Keep in mind, as always, opinions and views expressed here do not necessarily reflect those of MSU, though sometimes they very well may.

Stan Jones @stanjones94: How good could the duo of Dakota Hudson and Austin Sexton be in our future rotation?

maxresdefaultBob Carskadon: The short answer – very. And forget the future for a moment, Hudson could be a star this season. He was great in his first start Saturday. I feel like this year’s crop of freshmen pitchers could be similar to the group in 2012 with Jonathan Holder, Brandon Woodruff, Trevor Fitts and Ross Mitchell. They’ll be good.

Ryan Nelson @ryannel76: Please help settle an argument. Better song: More Than Words by Extreme or I Don’t Know Much by Aaron Neville?

Bob Carskadon: I don’t know much, but I know I love More Than Words far more than Aaron Neville’s classic.

Scott Nelson @moosedog9501: If you ever have a son, would you consider naming him Dudy?

Bob Carskadon: Probably not, but I’d surely try and give him a noble name, athankyou.

Ronnie Zumwalt @rvzmaroon: How many players actually travel with the baseball team?

Bob Carskadon: SEC rules limit the travel roster to 27 in conference play, which only makes the position battles going on right now even more important. MSU has a bevy of talented pitchers, outfielders and catchers and not all of them will always be available. Making those decisions will be tough for Cohen and his staff.

Hump4Hoops @Hump4Hoops: Billy Ray Cyrus released a rap remake of Achey Breaky Heart. Is this the worst song ever made?

Bob Carskadon: Is this for real? If it is, I can’t answer the question because I will do everything I can to never listen to that.

vanessaHump4Hoops @Hump4Hoops: Best song about walking: I’m Gonna Be (The Proclaimers), A Thousand Miles (Vanessa Carlton) or Walking In Memphis (Marc Cohn)?

Bob Carskadon: I was incredibly sad to learn that neither my co-host nor my producer were familiar with A Thousand Miles and Vanessa Carlton’s fine work on the ivories. That said, I’d put Walking In Memphis at the top of the list. Marc Cohn speaks to my soul with that one. I love it.

Ryan Nelson @ryannel76: What is the all-time season attendance record for MSU baseball? Will we break the record this year?

Bob Carskadon: Last season is actually the record-holder, when 281,840 people poured into Dudy Noble. The previous record was 233,015 in 2003.

DNF-2007-CelebrationWith 34 regular-season home games this year, MSU would need to average just under 8,300 per game, which is about what opening weekend looked like. Of course, Super Bulldog Weekend is three days of guaranteed 12,000-plus and several more SEC weekends ought to average around 10K per game. Then, if you add in potential (though obviously not guaranteed) regional and super regional games of 12K-plus fans … Well, it’s conceivable MSU could break the record for the second year running.

Will Gilmer @gilmerdairy: Do you have the self confidence to walk around in a men’s figure skating outfit all day?

Bob Carskadon: After taping a video with MSU track back in August in which I wore a skintight, one-piece speed suit, I imagine an ice skating outfit would be a breeze.

Will Gilmer @gilmerdairy: Aren’t the Harry Potter and Twilight series essentially the same thing, just one’s about werewolves and the other about witches?

Bob Carskadon: Get outta here with that question. If you read the HP books, they are, like much literature, representations of the world the author sees in real life. It’s a series about good vs. evil and the need to be strong and unwavering against opposition, as well as a constant story about equality and how it doesn’t matter where people come from, what they look like or what kind of house they grew up in.

What most don’t even realize is that the main storyline of the series is symbolic of Christianity, often with subtlety and sometimes in glaringly obvious ways.

To the point: Harry Potter is about much more than foolish wand waving or silly incantations.

Don Collins @dhcollins3: You win the lottery and a take a $100 million lump sum. What do you do with it?

Bob Carskadon: Buy an RV, bus or something like that and travel the country writing and eating my way across America.

dm_0911228ncf_olemiss_mississippistWill Gilmer @gilmerdairy: What is the most individually impressive performance you have seen from an MSU athlete?

Bob Carskadon: I’m awful at these types of historical recall questions, but I’ll limit my possibilities to games I’ve seen in person. Chris Stratton against LSU in 2012, Jarvis Varnado’s triple-double of blocks, points and rebounds, and so many big games by Anthony Dixon come to mind.

But the one that stands out was Chris Relf in the 2009 Egg Bowl. Not only was it a statistically-incredible game for him, it was his breakout day and may still remain as the most fun game of the Dan Mullen era. That performance meant so much to so many people, beyond just being impressive in a vacuum.

Don Collins @dhcollins3: Travel 200 years into the future or 200 years into the past?

Bob Carskadon: Generally speaking, I’m more interested in where things came from rather than where they’re going. Maybe it’s the writer in me. I’d rather travel in the past than future, in general, because of the people I could meet. I wouldn’t know who to talk to in the future and the gravity of their presence would be lost on me even if I did.

But in this instance, limited to exactly 200 years either way, I think I’d go to the future. I’m certainly curious what the world will look in two centuries. 200 years in the past, we didn’t have cars, electricity (I think), internet or even Taco Bell. Who knows what we’ll have in 200 more years.

Devon Bise @Devise91: Best female vocalist for each decade from ‘80s to 2010s?

1993WhitneyHouston02PA170212Bob Carskadon: For me the ‘80s and ‘90s are easy choices, assuming we’re talking vocalists, not performers. Whitney Houston and Mariah Carey have the best pipes of those decades. But the 2000s? I dunno. Christina Aguilera? Alicia Keys? Kelly Clarkson? No obvious choice. And the 2010s are even harder. Maybe Rihanna?

That Guy @thatguy1878: Rank these ‘80s one-hit wonders: Dexy’s Midnight Runners, Soft Cell, Thompson Twins, A-Ha, The Bugles.

Bob Carskadon: Oh, man. I love me some one-hit wonders. This is difficult. Listed by song: Tainted Love, Take On Me, Come On Eileen, Video Killed The Radio Star then Doctor Doctor. That Tainted Love beat gets in your head and few songs make me happier than Take On Me.

That Guy @thatguy1878: If your life was being narrated, who would you choose to do so?

Bob Carskadon: If I’m going with someone impressive, it’s Morgan Freeman or Sir Patrick Stewart, someone like that. But realistically, it’s probably Zach Braff. I’ve been watching a lot of Scrubs lately.

That Guy @thatguy1878: What is the best appetizer in Starkville?

Bob Carskadon: Like the best-cheese-stick-in-Starkville question from a few weeks ago, this is like picking my children, if I had any. I mean, crawfish dip at Restaurant Tyler, the southwest egg rolls at Mugshots, the bacon-cheese fries at Stagger, the shrimp at Old Venice, the chili con queso at Buffalo Wild Wings, the chicken nachos at Bin 612, the crawfish tails at The Veranda, garlic knots at CJ’s, fried eggplant at Little Dooey….

I am very hungry now. And I don’t have an answer.

Andy Atkinson @n8chaboy508: Of the following artists, list their most popular song and your favorite song: Led Zeppelin, Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Who.

Bob Carskadon: Alright, Zeppelin’s most popular is probably Stairway to Heaven, right? My favorite is Ramble On, though I could pick walk-out songs for the entire baseball team just from a Best Of album.

For Skynyrd: Sweet Home Alabama is probably the most popular, but Freebird is up there. As for my favorite, I’d have to call it a toss up between The Ballad of Curtis Loew and Simple Man. Skynyrd is at their best when getting more nostalgic.

The Who: We debated whether Who Are You or Baba O’Riley (Teenage Wasteland) is the most popular. Picking my favorite is difficult, though. Baba O’Riley is up there, but I love Behind Blue Eyes, Eminence Front, Pinball Wizard and Won’t Get Fooled Again very much.

waffle-hash-brownsFeej Writer @fijiwriter: Waffle House hash browns – what is the optimum order?

Bob Carskadon: Like all breakfast foods, I prefer my hash browns covered in warm maple syrup. But outside of that, I go smothered, covered, peppered and chunked.

Ryan Strickland @rstrickland90: Who would win in a fight: Darth Vader or Magneto?

Bob Carskadon: My initial thought was ‘Darth Vader, duh.’ But once you think about it, Magneto probably wins this and I’m not sure it’s even close. Vader is pretty much made of metal, so Magneto already has the upper hand. Plus, Magneto’s headset thing probably prevents Vader from using The Force on him. Lightsaber: also made of metal (and light, I guess). Really, the only weapon Vader has left is that lightning from the fingers thing.

I hate to admit it, but Magneto beats Darth Vader by TKO in the first round.

pbcoverRyan Strickland @rstrickland90: Shouldn’t Wes Rea have a blue ox accompany him to the batters box before every at-bat?

Bob Carskadon: Yes. Yes he should.

Tyler Jones @TheRealBigJones: Veggie burgers?

Bob Carskadon: I’ll eat anything if it tastes good and at least try it once even if it doesn’t. Veggie, soy, insect, whatever.

Ryan Strickland @rstrickland90: How do you like your BBQ ribs?

Bob Carskadon: I’m more a dry rub guy. Ribs are so inherently messy anyway, and if the meat is good, the subtle rub is a better complement.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ABC Mailbag: Baseball, food, music and more

  1. Wanted to put in my choices for most popular/best/favorite songs:

    Zep – popular: Stairway / best: Kashmir, Ramble On / favorite: Heartbreaker/Living Loving Maid

    Skynyrd – popular: Free Bird / best: love your choices of Simple Man and Curtis Loew, I’ll add Tuesday’s Gone / favorite: The Breeze

    The Who – popular: the CSI: themes (to keep it simple) / best: Won’t Get Fooled Again, My Generation, Baba O’Riley / favorite: difficult because there are so many favorites, the ones you mentioned plus I Can’t Explain and their BBC Sessions album is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

