All-Time MSU Football Team: Linebackers

Over the three weeks of fall camp, Mississippi State will be collecting votes and assembling an all-time MSU football team in honor of the 100th anniversary of Scott Field. Winners will be announced over the course of the season as the starters are filled in on both sides of the ball.

Johnie Cooks

Johnie Cooks

Voting is simple: the candidates and their highlights are listed below, just vote for your choices in the poll.

Today, we are selecting three linebackers from the pool of finalists.

  1. D. D. Lewis 1965-67

Member of College Football Hall of Fame, All-American 1967, member of MSU Ring of Honor, sixth round NFL Draft pick by Dallas Cowboys, Bear Bryant called him “the best linebacker in the country,” Vince Dooley called him the “best linebacker we faced.”

Ray Costict 1973-76

467 tackles (most in MSU history), consecutive games with 20-plus tackles in 1974, All-American 1976, All-SEC 1976, SEC Defensive Player of the Year 1976, 11th round NFL Draft pick 1977 by New England Patriots

Johnie Cooks 1977-81

392 tackles (5th all-time) 24 sacks (4th all-time), four interceptions, No. 2 overall pick in 1982 NFL Draft by Baltimore Colts, All-American 1981, Lombardi Award semifinalist 1981, member of MSU Ring of Honor

James Williams 1986-89

448 tackles (3rd all-time), 17 for loss, one sack, four fumble recoveries, All-SEC 1989, sixth round NFDL Draft pick by New Orleans Saints 1990

Reggie Stewart 1987-90

442 tackles (4th all-time), six for loss, one interception, one sack, three fumble recoveries. 1990 All-SEC

Daniel Boyd 1990-92

335 tackles (10th all-time), eight for loss, two fumble recoveries, one sack Two-time All-SEC 1991-92

Dwayne Curry 1993-96

391 tackles (6th all-time), 15.5 for loss, two sacks, four forced fumbles, four interceptions. Three-time All-SEC 1994-96

Paul Lacoste 1993-96

263 tackles, five for loss, three sacks, two forced fumbles. All-SEC 1996, All-American 1996

Barrin Simpson 1996-99

245 tackles, 11 for loss, five sacks, three interceptions, two forced fumbles. Butkus Award semifinalist 1999, two-time all-SEC 1998-99

Mario Haggan 1999-02

306 tackles, 31.5 tackles for loss, 10 sacks, five forced fumbles, one interception. All-American 2000, three-time All-SEC 2000-02, 7th round NFL Draft pick by Buffalo Bills

KJ Wright 2007-10

258 tackles, 22.5 for loss, eight sacks, 14 passes defended, three forced fumbles. Fourth round NFL Draft pick by Seattle Seahawks 2010

Chris White 2009-10

185 tackles, 19.5 for loss, 6.5 sacks, two interceptions, six passes defended. 2010 Conerly Trophy winner, All-SEC 2010, sixth round NFL Draft pick by Buffalo Bills

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to All-Time MSU Football Team: Linebackers

  1. Jim says:

    The linebacker poll is not legitimate when Joe Fortunato is left off the list of choices

  2. Anthony says:


  3. Clay Gatlin says:

    In 1991, Paul was never blocked by the MRA offense line.

  4. Devon says:

    You forgot to mention that Barrin Simpson was a 1st team All-American by the Sporting News in 1999.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s